How it feels to hit a jeepney part 1

“Got hit by a jeepney, don’t celebrate bitches, I’m still alive. My stuff flew somewhere including my cellphone and I didn’t get it back so my sun number is not active anymore, please don’t entertain if someone texted you guys from that number. I got bigtime scratches and bruises all over my body, not to mention my newly bought sheer top was torn apart, my guess watch was split into half, and my lovely wedge shoes ain’t lovely anymore. Thank God I’m still alive, please pray for the fast healing of my wounds and scratches because I don’t wanna be a living eggplant. Srsly, Thank God I’m alive.”

This was my Facebook status on the day that I got hit by a jeepney. Just to make it clear, I got hit by a jeepney (yes, my 206 bones are still intact), not ran over by a jeepney (coz I’d be dead by now or maybe a living vegetable). I wrote this story partly to inform my friends on what happened to me because I can’t tell them the story over and over again but mostly to be a reminder of this event. So that when my age is doubled, I can browse my write ups and read my first ever experience that shook my existence.

On the 30th of April 2012, I was on my way my home, it was already dark and it was past 9pm. I was wearing a purple sleeveless dress topped with a mustard colored sheer polo, which I bought two days ago, paired up with my lovely black wedge shoes. I alighted at the corner of a gas station, from there, I had to cross the intersection to ride another jeepney that would take me home in about 3minutes. I’ve known that place since my childhood memory can recall and I’ve crossed that street million times. Since it was already late in the evening, there were not much vehicles on the street. As a normal person would do, I looked to my left, then to my right before crossing the street (yes, I was not dumb nor careless that time). I started to walk, thinking at the back of my mind how relaxing it would be to finally get home after a long day. As I was walking across the intersection, I was staring at this approaching apple green motorcycle on my left. I felt the need to walk faster to avoid being hit by the motorcycle. I was halfway across the intersection, still staring at the approaching motorcycle on my left while I suddenly heard a shrill. I immediately looked to my right to know where it came from, then all of a sudden, I was already on the ground, staring at this black rubbery thingy near my right foot, which was apparently the wheel of the jeepney that hit me.

Mmmkei..that was fast track..no, that was really how it happened at that moment. let’s go slow-mo version. Take two.

On the 30th of April 2012, I was on my home, it was already dark blah blah blah… As a normal person would do, I looked to my left, then to my right before crossing the street (yes, I was not dumb nor careless that time) and I CLEARLY SAW NO JEEPNEY APPROACHING FROM MY RIGHT AT THAT TIME….Since it was already late in the evening, there were not much vehicles on the street…I was halfway across the intersection, still staring at the approaching motorcycle on my left while I suddenly heard a shrill. I immediately looked to my right to know where it came from.. THEN I SAW  THE STEEL HOOD (yung harapan mismo, I don’t even know what the parts are called) OF THE JEEPNEY TOWARDS ME IN ABOUT 1 SECOND, THEN BOOM! IT HIT MY UPPER ABDOMEN. THE “ANTENNA” (yung parang stick na nasa magkabilang dulo nung unahan nung jeep) PIERCED ON MY RIGHT UPPER ABDOMEN WHICH TORE MY POLO.  THE IMPACT MADE ME LOSE BALANCE AND I FELL ON THE GROUND. At that moment, I could clearly remember what I said, “oh shit”. And then I can’t control my body anymore because it was all happening super extra fast.  WHEN MY HEAD WAS ABOUT TO HIT THE SOLID GROUND, NEXT THING I SAW WAS THE WHEEL OF THE JEEPNEY ABOUT TO CRUSH MY RIGHT FOOT, THE SIGHT WAS HORRIBLE ENOUGH TO MAKE ME THINK THAT I AM ABOUT TO DIE AND THE FACES OF THE PEOPLE I LOVE WERE FLASHING THROUGH MY MIND (I’m now teary eyed reminiscing this shit, it creeps the hell out of me).

I was ready to die at that moment, I’m about to let go and accept what happened. Seriously, that was how it felt. It was like, Ok I got hit by a jeepney, If I’m gonna die, fine, there’s nothing I can do about it anyway. Then I don’t know why I suddenly had this adrenaline rush to fight back. Before my head hits the ground, I held on to the hood to support my upper body and not let my head fall. It was like my way of telling the jeepney to PLEASE stop moving (how I wish I had superman’s power at that time) or I’ll be crushed to death. Then it did stop, it was like the wheel was 1cm away from my right foot. Then it moved backwards a bit, maybe to give me space to breathe. And yes, I lived, still in one piece. See this is the part where we celebrate..yey! I’m alive! choz.😄

So that’s it for now, on what happened after, to the driver, with my stuff, on my body, in my life..or whatever..to follow.

One thing is clear though, It might not look serious because i can still walk and live my daily life, but I seriously wished that it was all over. May God forgive me for saying this, but at some point, I was thinking if I really died, it would be all over. Now I have to deal with the “trauma” it  caused me. Psychological affectation is much worse than the physical damage. But hey, this is me, I know I can do this, but this feeling is so new to me that I can’t cope up that easily.

God is so good I’m still alive. But seriously, right now I could borrow The Scripts’s line.. “I’m still alive but I’m barely breathing.”

To be continued..

About thecatlovermanhater

Randomness and shit..
This entry was posted in personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How it feels to hit a jeepney part 1

  1. alive and kickin’! and you were still able to add comedy to this experience.🙂 good that you are fine already! yey!

  2. Ayi. Sorry but I just skimmed through your posts so I wasn’t able to read the whole thing. Pardon me but did you get yourself checked days after the incident? Like check for any complications or something? I didn’t know it was THIS serious. I’m so worried. Please reply asap. I pray to God that everything is just fine.

    • Hello Didi! I’m so glad you took time to comment on my post because I don’t have any news from you these days. =) I’m feeling better now, thanks for the concern. The answers to your queries are in my second blog entry. I did go to the hospital the next day and got positive results from my xray. Sorry to bug you guys and make you worry, I really appreciate it. *virtual hug*

Leave a Reply

